Reading Job 8-11 this morning took me back to my days of legalism.  It reminded me that as a man it is very easy to “go to my head”.  Spirituality had become a way to prove myself and, like Job’s friends, I dismissed things of the heart.  Feelings, grief, sorrow were all “not allowed” beacause (1) it made me hurt and (2) I certainly didn’t know how to help anyone else feeling those kind of things.  Staying in what I knew (in my head) protected me, it insulated me from those hurtful, uncomfortable things.  Problem was, it kept me distant from everyone else and from God.

I was unable to relate to anyone having real emotions.  Like Job’s friends, the only counsel I could give was “Repent and pray more” (11:13-14).  I couldn’t identify with the pain others felt.  “If only there were a mediator between us, someone who could bring us together… Then I could speak to Him without fear, but I cannot do that in my own strength.” (9:33)  Jesus on the other hand, as a real man, came along and showed us how.  He allowed others the freedom to feel. bridging the gap between head and heart.  He validated peoples feelings through His spirituality.  Proving that not only was it safe, but that we could even relate to our Father through our feelings as He did in the garden before His suffering began.  Thanks be to God that He made us with a heart that feels, as a redeemed man, I don’t have to run from it any more!

